RSS Feed

Why Logging All Foods In Your food Diary Is So Important

Over the years I have partaken in writing food journals, whether it was cause I was in a paid diet or I was just watching what I was eating.

Depending on what journal I was doing dependent on what I wrote some just asked for food others asked for calories, protein, and other nutritional information, and some even asked me to count how many glasses of water I drank a day.

Now I like a list for grocery shopping, list for kids to get stuff down around the house they have a purpose, what is the purpose of writing down the food, to me that was like writing down food to make me feel guilty in all the areas I went wrong, it was always the negatives I was looking at, I was also really bad at writing down my foods, I would do really well for a few days then have a blow out and think oh well I will start again tomorrow and not write them down. Oh how wrong was I in not writing it down. I was never giving me a true representation of what I was truly doing, and I still didn’t understand the whole why am I doing this.

Well if you have been reading my blog you will know that I have been, I finally found a system that works for me,

this is one area of concern, I have been doing food diaries because everyone kept telling me I had to and here use this or go here and get this one. But I had to find something that was true to whom I am. So I have taken bits and pieces and made my own, I do urge you if you if it doesn’t feel right find a system that is going to work for you we are all different and we all have our own ways of doing things.

So I have found a system that works for me and I am not writing water in talk about how to get obsessed with  something you don’t need to as a lot of your fluid in take comes from food. I know the food I eat and I know the water I drink I am also in tuned with my body so water does not need to be recorded.

So I have been doing this journal after I wrote just the foods down and I could see that fat is a big issue for me but also that I was not getting enough calories. So this new journal that I have put together is for me to make sure that I have enough calories in my diet and the right amount of fat.

So this is my awakening about food journals. This is the bit that I just did not get.

I eat x amount of food which has X amount of fat.. this is in my ratio so great.

I then eat another x amount of food and I get X amount of fat.. this X amount of food technically I should not have eaten.. I am eating to live not living to eat. So this food has taken me well over my fat and I do the old oh well life happens move on start fresh the next day. But instead I decided to write all that I ate down. I have done it for the last four days. Now I can see why this is what I can see now that I could not see before.

It is written down it is in front of your eyes it is real. You have just informed yourself that you have just eaten x amount of calories. I then write next to it stating why, for me it has been stress on different occasions. It was like a light bulb going of. I was not proud that I ate that amount of food but I was proud that I wrote it all down and I could see, this was the missing link, this is giving me the true account of my eating habits, this is going to show me my weak points in my life, how to I am going to achieve my healthy size I want to be in my new healthy lifestyle.

Whom would have thought that writing down every single thing could make such a difference all these years I failed because I didn’t write ever single morsel that I ate.

Now I look back and think to myself how could I not see that. How could I not understand that seeing a true account of your eating habits is actually really productive in your weight loss. It is not just about writing your food and your calories like all journals tell you to do but also your mood what happened to make you eat that piece of cake or that chocolate, crepes all 8 of them with butter and golden syrup.  Seeing it written down why you did it, can make a huge different in how you see things. If you ate fancy desert or cake cause you went to a wedding or a party, then you write it down, if you got depressed over something write it down. Write all of it down.

Then you can see what things trigger you to eat, and this is going to give you the power to move forward.

I can see now the days that I have blown out but I can also see why. This for me has being so empowering in the fact that I now have control of my food. It is up to me to watch for triggers and learn from them not to hide them by not writing them down like it never happened that is not a true account of what has happened.

So please if you are sitting here reading this and you think “oh dear I didn’t write that food down” go and do it right now you will feel so much better for it..

This is how I do my journal.. using  excel sheet I have put in product  calories carbs protein and fat, I printed off a sheet from nowloss.com I laminated this as I am not one to keep lots of bits of paper but have tried websites before, So doing this suits my personality well. I put my daily food in, I sit down with my daughter and we put together a meal that will suit us for the week and I take this and add things that I need to suit my  6 meals a day.  I use the spread sheet to write down food that I use this is my dictionary I love excel and works great for me. I use a white board marker to fill in my laminated sheet for the day sometimes will be preplanned other days I wing it.. ( note not really best idea on winging it usually don’t do to well on these days), at the end of the day I calculate everything and I put it in the next page on Excel. I also write next to it what is gone well or why I went over my fat count.
After 7 days of doing this I will start to see where stresses are in my life and find ways to deal with them.

This has for me been the best system that takes in all my personality traits.

So please if you are sitting here reading this and you think “ops I didn’t write that food down” go and do it right now you will feel so much better for it..

If you have not started to journal your food, look at why you are not doing it yet have you done it in the past and it did not work did you like any parts of that journal. Then take that part and make your own up. But don’t fret if  it doesn’t work out keep going till you find a system that works for you. Also think about what you are trying to record is it why you binge it.. or you are eating too much fat or just to keep what calories you have eaten,  what ever your reason been make it about that specific item. Bye working on one thing at a time your are more likely to succeed, I am working on calories, fat ratio, how can I get enough calories in my diet without all the fat intake.

please comment on if you use a journal and how it works for you or anything you would like to share about journals

Leave a Reply

