RSS Feed

Life is My Richness

I have decided that November is coming around too quickly, school is about to start again so our life is going to be hectic, least no swimming for the kids this term that is going to restart next year. We have had such a busy year this year and with only 3 assignments left to finish I am looking forward to no study after 3 years,I will have gained, Business, Computing and Administration Certificate, and New Zealand Institute of Management Intro To Management Certificate. I have loved studying and I have loved showing the kids you are never to old to learn. I have just started to learn the guitar, but my main aim is to learn the Clarinet so watch this space. Am saving up for one.

Isn’t it funny how life goes, for years you struggle to get where you want to be then with a few changes in your life it all seems to fall into place.

When I was a kid I was great at saving money, then I grew up and life happened and I lost my good saving habits, one of my courses I did had about money, plus I read the money mans book, that is a great read,  http://www.fishpond.co.nz/Books/Winning-Money-War-Lisa-Dudson/9781869419981      I found this book to be great, I have worked through it and I got a better knowledge and understanding, also when I worked through my financial course work , it became clear that whole scenario of “if you can’t look after yourself or your money how are you suppose to help others”. Beginning of the year I went into the bank and the lady got me to make a list of all the things in my life that needed money she made an account for each one and $5 went into each. I was still not sure if this would work but I gave it a try because I was going around in silly circles I had got into debt twice with credit cards and I wanted out of that vicious circle.  I want to be a bit like but not totally as in her money personality,  she retired and paid cash for a trip over seas for her and dad. I want to aspire to something not just to keep going around in silly circles. But I found I was not there totally with mind set, and I kept eating into the savings. Well a couple of months ago I freaked I had closed down the bank accounts and was in a rut I needed something Christmas is coming, I have since found another bank which is hard to get money out of. I have several accounts building up for things like car, plants for the garden, music account so I can get the kids and me the things we need, that sort of thing, I even have two accounts just opened yesterday to my normal bank. I want to get it that all the accounts are in the one bank, but I had to find a way to get me saving but also in the right mind set. It has taken me a while but I am getting there. It is good I am finally on track.

Now you probably wondering why I have written this in..

When I first split I had depression, and I didn’t really care about much, I made sure kids were fine, and daily tasks were done. But over time you learn that in life it is what you make of it, if you don’t put one foot forward you will still be in the same place you are in a years time. Having my son with Autism also taught me one thing at a time. I have covered this in earlier posts but want to recover it again as I know it is a long process to get where one is today. It is not an over night adventure where you go to sleep dream all is well and wake up and life is fantastic, it doesn’t work like that.

So I had to work on depression. I would like to say that today I have done days just like every body else, but I now know how to deal with them, I then worked on money, I had to get me out of this hole I was in, and as you read above I am well on the way. I then worked on fitness, and health, Having a great personal  trainer is so important. Being able to talk to him like a councilor, a friend, a trainer, bit like Bob Harper on Biggest Loser, being able to get to the nuts and bolts of why you are the way you are.  That is important, every time I think I am there, I find more inner strength and knowledge, people say knowledge is power, well they are so right, I have gained so much knowledge in the last few years. From doing my courses, reading books, talking to people, researching, teaching my children. Learning is an amazing thing and you are never to old to learn whether it be a new habit, activity, or even to just increase your knowledge about the way you are living. I have found that every time think I am done there is always a new chapter, I can see what new chapters are going to be so this blog will continue right through my life. It has already started at the beginning of my life. I feel like a caterpillar and I have eaten up knowledge and I am in the Chrysalis part just waiting to bloom into a wonderful butterfly, I can feel it that I am so close to my goals.

So far I have made this blog about health and fitness. But I now that is only one part of me, my struggles through my financial woes has been an underlying factor that plays on my mindset and invades other parts of my life. health is about your body but also your mindset it is finding things in your life that you worry about.

Here is a money personality quiz that you can use to see what sort of money person you are, https://www.sorted.org.nz/calculators/money-personality

As for budgets, work out how much money you have coming in, work out your expenditure, when bills usually come in, but keep it realistic I have worked on my budget and it has been changed so many times but every time I do it it gets better and better, and you will see patterns happening things that work thing that need to be changed.  Become friendly with excel on Microsoft office, It makes budgeting so much easier, use one tab write house, personal, car,  write your weekly income, fortnightly, monthly write them down on the page, this is anything to do with the running

House phone, power, gas, insurance, rent, rates, food, cell phone, internet, etc,

Personal, Health such as drs prescriptions, hair cuts, travel, Christmas, holidays/travel,  then you have,

Car, Petrol, Warren of Fitness, Car registration, tyres, services etc,

writing the amounts next to each also writing if it is weekly fortnightly and monthly,

When you have a good idea on what you have coming in to what you have going out, Then you are ready to start your budget.

You need to find the best way for you and your income, some people on weekly will do a weekly budget or fortnightly budget, to go with their partners wage of fortnightly, or fortnightly to monthly, or just as their income comes in the budget is set to that wage.

There are a couple of ways and these are just my opinion there are many others out there, your other wise a hoarder or a spender when it comes to a budget, if you are hoarder and pay bills on time etc then, setting up a bank account strictly for bills when a bill comes in you pay it from that account and you don’t touch it but because you are a hoarder this will work well for you,

Now for the spenders: Automatic Payments, let them become your best friend in the financial world,  Have them set up weekly, you have your budget you know how much each week money has to go out for rates, power, insurance, etc. Have them done on an automatic payment, the night your pay goes in the night all your bills go out so you don’t see that money you don’t have a chance to spend it. When you wake up in the morning it is all gone. What is left is for your food and petrol. All money for bills have gone to the companies. What ever is left after all that and your food and petrol is yours. If you are wanting to save do the same thing automatic payment. Least then you know that money is going out. You are paying the bills you have food and petrol money and then after that, what is left is yours,

Really important in these times to find ways that are going to work for you. There are so many books and websites you can read about money. Work out what you want to achieve, are you not getting bills paid on time, maybe that is one, maybe you want to right a budget, there are great websites out there that will help you, we have https://www.sorted.org.nz which I have used a lot also in getting me where I am today.

I am not Rich but I am not poor, though I am a work in progress,

Leave a Reply

