RSS Feed

What A Day Out.

Sunday 30th September, Sun is shining, birds are singing, we decided to got the esplanade across town, but instead of driving we walked. So we (kids and I) packed a picnic (1) and off we set(930am), From our house we walked to the bridal track down Ruamahaga cress walked along till bottom end of Ruahine Street. We stopped here for a quick morning tea before setting off again, was lovely walking along the river talking to the children about so many different things. Lots of people out and about walking, running, biking, walking dogs, people exercising doing crunches etc, We got to the esplanade took 2 hours of strolling, no speed walking, today was a day for stopping and taking in the sights and sounds smells etc, when we got there we went to the rose garden and had our picnic, it was a bit windy but when the wind died down it was lovely, we had a wonder then went to the bird Avery talking about ideas we can do next term, ie taking out books and reading under tree even maths and English then having a splash in the pool with a BBQ afterwards. We went into the hot-house I found an idea for my garden. Then saw the ducks, then the kids had a great time playing in the park, we then went for a bush walk. We then took to a tree and sat there and watched the day pass by. Mum came and got us at 3pm. Was a lovely day out and hardly any complaints.

Now the reason I am telling you all this is because this is what can be achieved when you get fit and healthy. We always drove every where. But now we do days like this. The next big day is going to be Beehive Track. We have all got so fit including the kids that we can go and do days like this and enjoy it. Where it used to be a chore to have to get out of the house and go and do stuff now we have the energy and days out are fun now and really enjoying what the town has to offer. It makes life so much easier to do so many daily things but it also extends what you do in your life.

(1) salad sandwiches cucumber, lettuce, deli ham, cheese, egg which I added mayo too, no butter and no added mayo. water, bananas, Dried mango, and our water bottles,  now when we used to do picnics we would do, bags of chips, sandwiches, biscuits, fruit, fizzy drink, and the kids didn’t even miss it they enjoyed their lunches.

About Ali's World

I am me, a very busy me, I have two children, I home school them, I work out at the gym and walk half marathons. I enjoy gardening growing my own veges and cooking. I enjoy doing lots with my children. I also study part time. I am on two committees.

Leave a Reply

