RSS Feed

Manawatu Striders Half Marathon

Well it rained one thing to start a marathon and then have it rain but to have it rain on the starters gun not very inspiring at all. But I went . .aim was to do 8-8.5km an hour.. Well we took off and it was going well 7.5km first and second km not sure after that I do know that when I got to 8km I had just hit the 8km mark and just seen dad and my daughter and son. I felt on top of the world I was doing great time got to half way mark and I was still doing fairly we.. Got to the 15-16km mark and I hit my wall.. I wanted to quite I wanted to sit down on the fence and just cry my heart out. it had also started to rain I started to second guess my self.. but then I realised I had no phone and I am certainly no quitter and some where done the track my dad and kids will be waiting for me to cheer me on and take photos.. So I kept going at times I felt like i was going like a snail and wanted to start singing like on a Sunday stroll then other time I speed up and got a good pace going. This time it was my left leg as opposed to my right IT band that played up but I stopped and stretched.. I got back with heaps of people passing me my main aim was 3hours I did it in 2h59m28s. I was happy with that. But I learned so much from that walking.

  • I need to get out walking more and to start to feel what my body is like to walk 8km an hour.
  • I take my watch and to use it properly to time myself and if i am going to fast that it is ok to slow down
  • That it is about you and not anyone else it is your race against yourself you physical ability your mental stamina to be able to go around that course knowing you did your best using all the knowledge you have and that I did not do..
  • Pacing yourself is one of the most important things you need to learn in walking .
  • and jelly beans.. I forgot to take my jellybeans…
About Ali's World

I am me, a very busy me, I have two children, I home school them, I work out at the gym and walk half marathons. I enjoy gardening growing my own veges and cooking. I enjoy doing lots with my children. I also study part time. I am on two committees.

Leave a Reply

