RSS Feed

Edible Garden

Posted on

Sustainable living, growing your own food is part of this. I have a vegetable garden fruit trees, berry bushes, I have some flowers but use them for attracting wild life to my garden so native trees, and flowers to attract bees for pollination, I keep my garden simple, but fruitful. You can do it as easy or as complicated as you like.

So where do you start? how do you grow? where are the best planting areas? There are so many edible plants out there, bushes you can make into fences, ornamental fruit trees, pots for strawberry and herbs, if you look on the net you are bombarded with so many ideas.

I will put things in to nice easy steps for you..

First thing before you do anything is,

1: Write a list of foods you eat (no point growing things your not going to eat if you don’t buy them in the shop why would you grow them at home) unless they are expensive and you would eat them if they were cheaper

2. Now you have your list. read up on them

  • what weather conditions do they need,
  • what area of the garden
  • can they grow in pots
  • do you have room for trees,
  • do you have room for a vegetable garden. (explain soon how to)

 So now you have an idea of what you can grow, set out a plan of your garden. where the best places are for the plants. Draw a diagram doesn’t have to be flash but just so you can keep your idea and you can change things when new ideas come along. 

So now you have your list, you have your plan.. you have researched your plants you want to grow so you know what environment they like.. and what they require to grow and give you lots of fruit..easy really isn’t it just a bit of time to set up and a bit of time to grow..Well looked after plants will treat you right with fruits a neglected plant will neglect you..

Your now saying I don’t have room I live in an apartment.

Depending on your rules, do you have a balcony, is your window sills in the kitchen wide.

Think pots!  herbs are great for cooking and having them close to you is wonderful the aroma in your kitchen will be delightful.  On the balcony you can have pots might be a citrus tree a strawberry pot or any other berry bush planted in a pot. This is where you need to become adventurous.

Vegetable Gardens,

you can keep it simple and that is good idea till you get the hang of what you are doing..

many ways of making a vegetable gardens. This is how me and my father have done mine. but please look around and find a way that is going to suit you.

We measured out an area of the garden. we put knocked into the ground (not cemented) little posts .. put planks between.. and put bricks around then fill the center with compost. we use mushroom compost as this works well for growing vegetables.

I then made rows by hoeing some people use string or boards between for walking we just hoe.. couple of hours and i have a vegetable garden. I also use the garden opposite for my tomatoes in the summer when summer rolls around I will show my garden off. but for now the photo is of my vegetable garden so you can get an idea.

So your probably wondering what I have in my garden..

I have a herb garden with various herb that I like to cook with.

Fruit trees are, Plum, Apple, Mandarin, Lemon, Lime,

Berry bushes, Raspberry, Blueberry, Strawberry, Blackberry

Vegetables. I grow all the ones I like cabbage, broccoli, Cauliflower, onions, garlic, tomato, courgette, capsicums, bok choy, cucumber, lettuce, just to name a few,

I still want to get Orange tree and  Pear tree, more strawberry plants some more herbs, keep the vegetable garden turning over produce. when I have the list of normal foods that we eat.. I will then start to look at other fruit trees and berry bushes,

Stores.. where do you get your stuff from..

We have several places I can get my plants from but you want to find one that has good service. I go to one that I can get three punnets of 6 plants in each for $10. they also give good service. They are always ready to help with advice. I can go to a big store that has a garden section but have they employed someone that actually knows what they are talking about and when you are learning this becomes a vital part of your gardening. I can get the stuff I want from a cheaper place but I would rather go somewhere and get good service and knowledge to go with. So go to many stores. I tried all stores where I lived and worked out the best place to go. I actually drive to the other side of town to go to the store, 

Also look for good places to get your compost bark etc just like your garden shop. You are going to be growing food for your family so you want the best to go into your garden so you can have the best going on your table.

Composting.. grass clippings, food scraps not meat though, I put in egg cartoons or news paper sometimes helps with moisture content I find tree clippings etc. but make sure the weeds that you don’t want to come back go in the rubbish bag..you don’t want them in your compost. There are many different kinds of bins out there it is a matter of looking to see which one is going to suit your needs. Some cities will with the rubbish/ recycle collection have a compost pick up… It is not just about composting it is also about keeping it out of land fills. If you can not have a compost and you have a compost pick up service use it keep it out of your rubbish bags, I used to have a compost but now I have a bin and take it to my fathers where we combine and we use the compost for his house and mine.

The Edible Garden is only limited to what you are willing to do. What time and energy you want to put in. The start up cost can be high but once it is in it is only then maintaining. Also. Pellets find wood pellets they are great for lots of things. usually free but gives you wood for making things and even surrounds of your vegetable garden.

Happy Gardening folks..

 

About Ali's World

I am me, a very busy me, I have two children, I home school them, I work out at the gym and walk half marathons. I enjoy gardening growing my own veges and cooking. I enjoy doing lots with my children. I also study part time. I am on two committees.

Leave a Reply

